Starting the process

After I got a few thoughts down I realized that I needed help. “No man is an island” and there was no way I would be able to write a book without some advice. I headed straight to Barnes & Noble where I discovered that there are HUNDREDS of books on how to write a book. So which one do you choose? I found a couple that seemed interesting but my top choice (SO glad I bought it) was Stephen King’s Memoirs on Writing. Not only did he tell his personal story but also gave very helpful advice in his wonderfully sharp, sometimes humorous way. After reading three books on how to write a book, I took the plunge.

There are so many ways that one can approach bookwriting…I use the ‘scattershoot method’ which of course I made up myself. It’s my OCD combination of everyone’s advice. I tried making an outline; I wrote (sort of) a backstory for each character; I attempted to write at least three pages a day; I did the ‘stream of consciousness’ method. Yeah, kinda crazy, right?

My favorite part of writing was story development. This usually happened when I was on my way home from work, which gave me PLENTY of time to think. I have to say, Hunter Hayes, the country singer, was my muse. When I needed to think about the romance side of my story, Hunter was my ‘go to’ CD. I’d pop it in…..sing “I Want Crazy” at the top of my lungs, which would put me in that ‘I don’t care how foolish love is, jump right into it’ kind of mode. 

My best memories of writing revolve around “Trucklet” (that’s what my husband named my SUV) figuring out what would happen to my MC, Jen.

Good times.

p.s. and can I just add an addendum and say that when I was struggling along to find out what Jen would do next, the most ABSOLUTE fun of all, was having the ‘ah ha’ moment….when it would just come to me what would happen next. I don’t know where those ideas come from, but sometimes I would get chillbumps at discovering the answer to my dilemma.

About january11555

I live in a small town in East Texas with my husband, Gary. I'm an avid reader who loves a variety of book genre's - my favs are vintage romances, mysteries, magical realism, and historical novels. I have just published my debut novel, The Bullaun Stone - a blend of mystery and romance, seasoned with a touch of magic. Please feel free to contact me at janwhiteauthor@outlook.com or visit my website http://www.janflynnwhite.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

