Can we talk query letters?

Almost as difficult as editing my manuscript (and maybe even more so) is the dreaded query letter. This is where I get to take my 84,000 pages and combine them into one ‘hook’ sentence, and a short paragraph or two detailing the high points of the story, without giving away the ending. hhhmmmnnn

I submitted one (and yes I’ll say it, lousy i.e. poorly written) query and got an immediate ‘form’ rejection. That’s when I decided even MORE help from a writing community was needed. I found agentquery.com to be extraordinarily helpful! and QueryShark.com has some really great examples of how to and how NOT to write a query letter. Hopefully I am improving. I use present tense, because I’m still trying to perfect my query letter. If it ever gets a nibble, I’ll share it on here so you can see the finalized version. In the meantime….I’ll keep pounding out those revisions.

About january11555

I live in a small town in East Texas with my husband, Gary. I'm an avid reader who loves a variety of book genre's - my favs are vintage romances, mysteries, magical realism, and historical novels. I have just published my debut novel, The Bullaun Stone - a blend of mystery and romance, seasoned with a touch of magic. Please feel free to contact me at janwhiteauthor@outlook.com or visit my website http://www.janflynnwhite.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can we talk query letters?

  1. Pingback: Query Letters- Part 2 | Seventeen 20

Leave a Reply

