What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger?

Several weeks ago, I sent my query to a site called ‘QueryShark.’ The premise is that literary agent, Janet Reid, will select a query and post it. She then comments on it herself and allows others to also make comments. Today I received an email from Janet Reid saying that my query had been posted. I was so excited I could hardly contain myself, for two reasons – 1) she specifically stated that it could be up 120 days for a query to be posted after submission and 2) only a small portion of the queries she receives are posted. That being said — I got over my excitement REALLY fast when I started reading her critique. Let me just give you the first sentence of her response. “I’m voting for both of them to die in a wolverine attack.”

OUCH!

Now the happy part is that when I do a revision, I can send it back to QueryShark and have it chewed up and spit back at me…AGAIN.

Okay, I’m being facetious. The reality is that while it does sting, she did give good advice. And I think in the publishing world, one really is swimming with the sharks. If I can’t take the tough comments now…imagine what it would be like to have something published and read the reviews….that’s why they are called ‘critics.’

So bring it on, QueryShark! I’m not ready to pack up my toys and go home yet!

About january11555

I live in a small town in East Texas with my husband, Gary. I'm an avid reader who loves a variety of book genre's - my favs are vintage romances, mysteries, magical realism, and historical novels. I have just published my debut novel, The Bullaun Stone - a blend of mystery and romance, seasoned with a touch of magic. Please feel free to contact me at janwhiteauthor@outlook.com or visit my website http://www.janflynnwhite.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger?

  1. Pumpkinhead says:

    Still voting for a more quirky Jen. And kind of want her to end up with the mystery guy, nice though Mike might be. πŸ˜‰

  2. Myra King says:

    Even with the negative (although undoubtedly helpful) comments made by the ‘Sabre’ Shark, I’m still intrigued by your story’s premise. Will be watching this post with interest. All the very best of luck. You certainly have the right attitude.

    • january11555 says:

      Thank you, Myra. It is definitely a journey, this writing business! I appreciate your support…always nice to hear positive reinforcement on the heels of criticism πŸ™‚

  3. Be positive, she would not have eviscerated the query had she not seen the potential. I submitted one six months ago…..sound of crickets and a slight breeze. Janet is holding another Flash fiction contest this Friday. Her blog is jetreidliterary.com or something close. I have been in half a dozen and they are wicked fun. Find her site and review the last few contests and submissions. Join in it is a very positive contest. And don’t let your writing callouses disappear….write,write,write. We all do it because we have stories to tell. Go Get Em” Cheers Hank (frenchsojourn)

    • january11555 says:

      Thanks Hank! Really appreciate your supportive words. I have to admit, I was a bit down yesterday over it, but with people like you and Myra King offering words of encouragement, I feel better today. I’ll check out Janet’s site. I do really respect her; not many people would take the time to do what she does. Thanks again for taking the time to write!

  4. Well, I was impressed by your comment on Query Shark. I might not have handled it with such class. I would have reacted in a more feral manner. Then again that’s just me. I’ll keep an eye on your progress, I’m in the same boat….even though you had the guts to jump into shark infested waters. (grin)

  5. I’ll let it go, but my favorite was the “OH Deeer”….as opposed to the correct spelling “oh Dear”. It just made the comment ironic that someone not even having the courage to sign their name would look so foolish making a dig with incorrect spelling. Darwinism at it’s best. You don’t have to post this….just thought you might find it funny. Now go back to writing and quit wasting your time by reading my snarky comments. Watch out for the Flash Fiction contest. Cheers Hank.

Leave a Reply

