Yeah, I know, it’s been a while….

Truthfully, after I got the last review from QueryShark, I started thinking about my writing. While the criticism was hard to take (as the truth often is) I did take it to heart and realized I needed to ‘tighten up’ my writing. So I’ve spent the past few months going over my manuscript chapter by chapter to try to make it more interesting and cohesive. I’ve been neglecting my reading, so I wanted to pick that up again too.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about publishing — like what happens to a book once it’s published. I was in Albertson’s yesterday and noticed a whole bin of books that were 80% off; they looked like castaways, all jumbled in there together. Last week, as I walked down the book and magazine aisle at Kroger I wondered if any of the books were even selling? With so many options for downloading books, are hard copies becoming irrelevant?

I’ve been following several authors who are self-publishing and have decided it takes a LOT of work to self-publish, although on the plus side, you have more control over your manuscript.

All this has caused me to ask the big question — where do I want to go with my book? What do I want to do with it when I have it polished up and as presentable as I can get it? Do I want to just find someone who will bind some copies and I’ll give them out as Christmas presents? Do I want to try to actually find an agent to represent me and my book?

Maybe the bigger question is…am I a writer, or not? Maybe THAT’S why I haven’t posted in a while…still searching for an answer.

In the meantime, I’ve started my second book, which ties into the first. At least I’m having fun and learning. How could that be a bad thing?

About january11555

I live in a small town in East Texas with my husband, Gary. I'm an avid reader who loves a variety of book genre's - my favs are vintage romances, mysteries, magical realism, and historical novels. I have just published my debut novel, The Bullaun Stone - a blend of mystery and romance, seasoned with a touch of magic. Please feel free to contact me at janwhiteauthor@outlook.com or visit my website http://www.janflynnwhite.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

