Here goes nothing!

Okay, I submitted my short story ‘Ad Consequentiam’ to The First Line literary journal today. In about three weeks, I’ll be laughing or crying.

Seriously though, I wanted to take a break from writing my second book in the Willow Tree Wishes series and a short story seemed just the thing. I happened up The First Line and was delighted at the concept — The purpose of The First Line is to jump start the imagination–to help writers break through the block that is the blank page. Each issue contains short stories that stem from a common first line and provides a forum for discussing favorite first lines in literature. It is an exercise in creativity for writers and a chance for readers to see how many different directions can be taken from the same starting place.

I was really nervous about writing a short story. I’ve never written one before and frankly I didn’t think I could. So I went into it with trepidation. The first line for the summer submission is ‘Please, Sylvia, give me a moment to think.’

Yesterday I was talking to my husband and challenged him “Ask me where I got the idea for my story, just ask me.”

“I’ll bite.” He says.

My response?

“I have no idea whatsoever.”

It just sort of came to me. I started writing and somehow the storyline emerged. Almost out of nowhere. How does that even happen? It truly still amazes me sometimes how the images form in my mind, then I write down what I see.

Like a movie.

It’s actually quite fun.

Okay, that’s all for today, just thought I’d make a few observations.

About january11555

I live in a small town in East Texas with my husband, Gary. I'm an avid reader who loves a variety of book genre's - my favs are vintage romances, mysteries, magical realism, and historical novels. I have just published my debut novel, The Bullaun Stone - a blend of mystery and romance, seasoned with a touch of magic. Please feel free to contact me at janwhiteauthor@outlook.com or visit my website http://www.janflynnwhite.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

