The Bullaun Stone is live on Amazon!

So excited to let you know that you can now purchase a copy of The Bullaun Stone in both paperback and Kindle version. Tomorrow, I’ll have a fun launch giveaway with chances to win an Amazon gift card, a Celtic knot charm or an autographed copy of my book.

I had initially envisioned the book as being a little more ‘homespun’ than it is, but as other writers can testify, sometimes your characters take some turns that you didn’t expect. In the book, Robert Kavanagh makes a shepherd’s pie for Kate. I was going to include a recipe for a pie, but things took a different turn. So today, I thought I’d have some fun and post the recipe on my blog.

I actually researched several recipes and liked the way this one sounded. And yes, I DID try it out first! I have to admit, I think I’ve only had lamb once before in my life, so I was a bit leery about the recipe at first. But it turned out to be REALLY tasty! If you’ve never made shepherd’s pie before and would like to give it a try, I encourage you to do so.

Robert Kavanagh’s Shepherd’s Pie Recipe

Ingredients

  • Meat Filling- 2 lbs. lamb, cubed into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 large onion, finely diced
  • 6 cloves of garlic, crushed and minced
  • 6 medium carrots, peeled and diced
  • 3 TB. unsalted butter, melted
  • 4-5 TB. flour
  • 1¼ cups Guinness beer
  • 1½ cups red wine
  • 1½ cups beef broth or stock
  • 2 TB. Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 tsp. dried sage
  • 3 tsp. dried basil
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1½ cups fresh peas (or defrosted frozen peas)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Potato topping- 3 lbs. russet potatoes, peeled, cubed, and cooked until fork tender.
  • 6 TB. unsalted butter
  • 2 cups grated sharp (or extra sharp) white cheddar cheese.
  • ⅓ cup evaporated milk
  • 4 TB. dried parsley flakes
  • ¼ cup fresh chives, finely chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions 

  1. Meat Filling-Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large dutch oven, or skillet, brown meat over medium-high heat. Drain excess fat.
  2. Add carrots, onions, and garlic to meat and sauté until onions are clear. Add melted butter and stir to mix.
  3. Slowly mix in flour and coat meat and veggies. Pour in Worcestershire sauce, wine, broth, and Guinness and stir until mixture starts to thicken. Add peas and spice then bring to a simmer.
  4. Simmer on medium low heat for 15-20 minutes, stirring frequently. (if mixture gets too thick you can add a little more beef broth)
  5. Potato Topping- Drain cooked potatoes. Add to large mixing bowl or bowl of a stand mixer. Add remaining ingredients (setting aside ¾ cup of grated cheese) and mix on low speed with hand mixer (or in stand mixture) until smooth.
  6. Coat 13×9 baking dish or 10- 12 oz. ramekins with non-stick cooking spray. Add meat filling to pan(s).
  7. Carefully spoon potatoes over the meat filling until covered. Sprinkle with remaining grated cheese.
  8. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until cheese starts to brown and bubble (20-30 minutes if making individual sized pies in ramekins.)
About january11555

I live in a small town in East Texas with my husband, Gary. I'm an avid reader who loves a variety of book genre's - my favs are vintage romances, mysteries, magical realism, and historical novels. I have just published my debut novel, The Bullaun Stone - a blend of mystery and romance, seasoned with a touch of magic. Please feel free to contact me at janwhiteauthor@outlook.com or visit my website http://www.janflynnwhite.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

